The National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) has successfully concluded its national convention for 2022, where executives were elected to steer the affairs of the 40year old association for the next year. The convention had in attendance representatives of all tertiary institutions in Nigeria, including universities, polytechnics, colleges of education, and monotechnics, that comprise NANS, which is the umbrella body of all Nigerian students at home and in the diaspora.

The 2022 congress elected Comrade Adediwura Adeshina Ismail, of the FCT College Of Education, Zuba, as Senate President, being the first student in the FCT to hold such an exalted position in the Nigerian student movement. The legislative arm of the student movement comprises the Presidents of the Student Union Government of all tertiary institutions in Nigeria.

Speaking after being declared the winner by the chairman of the election committee, the Senate President-elect, Comrade Adeshina, told journalists that “the election is a clear and unequivocal reflection of the will and aspirations of Nigerian students, who desire to see am upliftment in their welfare”. Comrade Adeshina further enjoined his fellow “students across Nigeria and in diaspora, to continue to be exemplary as they have been in the buildup to this convention and during the convention itself”.

While noting that “the education system is undergoing serious challenges like the rest of Nigeria and the whole world”, he assured that “the new NANS will continue to work with constructive minded stakeholders and honest actors in the system to ensure that all enemies of the nation are defeated and the students are given priority in all things pertaining to education”.

The executives will be sworn in, in the coming days to commence implementation of their programmes, beginning with comrade Adeshina described as “the immediate restoration of full academic activities in all tertiary institutions in Nigeria”.

Please follow and like us:

Related posts

Leave a Comment

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *